Heemstede, 27/12/2002, 2am

Christmas Annoyances

They asked me what I would like for Christmas, so I gave them a list of books I am interested in. So what did they get me? A book on fucking feminism. Feminism! How could it possibly be more unrelated to what I'm interested in, how could they on Earth have found anything more suitable for me to get annoyed at? There is only one thing (that I know of) that I repeatedly get wound up about which has to do with society, civilization, mankind, human development or politics (which I don't bother getting into as I disagree with most of the things to do with it � which is why I don't get wound up about it), and that is feminism, and the entire hodgepodge around it.

Just one little tiny example: the word mankind, which I happily used above. Feminists would scream and shout (and stamp their foot, you know, the girlish behaviour I intensely disapprove of), being upset about the fact that it contains the word man and not woman, the minute they awaken from their centuries-lasting daze and realise they're being excluded. I am repulsed by it. What a waste of energy and time to make a fuss about something that should be so manifest.

If you ask me, it even proves their supposed inferiority, by their invincible pessimism. The way I see it, one should think positively. The word 'mankind' means what it means: 'human race', being all males and females. That would simply make one human from the race a man, which would mean all further invented words to do with a collection or total of all living humans would include that exact word: man. The fact that females were given their own appellation has therefore nothing to do with exclusion or chauvinism, but admiration. Women were considered to be so important and special (for example), that they were worthy enough to deserve their own name; to emphasise their existence above the great mass.

So, Ms. Feminists, drop it. Lighten up and don't give me any of that 'womankind'-shit any more.

My mother is a feminist, or has many identical ideas to the feminists'. So it might be, perhaps, a logical thing to suppose I, her daughter, should have the same interpretations of life. But in fact, anyone who supposes such a thing insults me greatly. (However, considering the people who very blindly and surely supposed such a thing were my grandparents � who don't know, or don't want to know, don't understand and will never grasp the kind of 'relationship' I have with my mother � I am merely disappointed and annoyed.)

They did take pains to get me an English book though. I give them credit for that.

The next annoyance would be caused by my sister. I honestly thought the times of playing a copycat were over, that she'd finally stabilised and was able to trust her own inventions. But I was wrong.

I bought myself a beautiful new top, especially for Christmas. You must understand, it was very renovating, as it's a dark red stylish top with glittery silver symmetrical Asian patterns on it around the neck and waist. I have never in my life worn (or liked, even) the colour red, and I am by far a glitter favouring girl. But the top suits me, if I may say so myself, and it looks very good with my black corduroy flares. This was my outfit for Christmas Day.

Today, Boxing Day, my sister finally got dressed after a long morning of sauntering about in her pyjamas. She was wearing her one red top she has (which she hasn't worn for a very, very long time), with a pair of jeans with semi-flared trouser legs. My goodness. There's more to it though, because my sister never wears just a top and a pair of trousers. It's always either trousers with a baggy jumper, or trousers with a top and something over it. I was severely annoyed. (Worth mentioning though, is the fact that her red top was nearer orange than dark red, and her jeans were blue, so to be honest it almost looked ridiculous. Snigger.)

Of course she harshly denied it having anything to do with what I was wearing the previous day, but after she clumsily started moaning about how the jeans weren't comfortable, she got changed. Not only did she put different trousers on, she even but on another top!

Maybe I'm overreacting. Maybe I'm a stupid self inclined cow, but such things just tend to pester me.

Nevertheless my Christmas was a good one. Apart from these two incidents, some small clashes and a grave boredom during the afternoon on Christmas Day, it was cosy, warming and united.


I feel so My mood at www.imood.com

<< | comment | >>
Content & Design TTD, that's me
Best viewed on a Mac